History Salvaged has acquired a collection of Witness Wood® from Churchill Downs removed from the world-famous Twin Spires during the 2001-2005 restoration.
Churchill Downs and it’s iconic Twin Spires is most commonly known as being the home of the Kentucky Derby, but its history is much richer than just that. Founder Colonel Meriwether Lewis Clark Jr. opened the gates in 1875 to serve as a home for the Louisville Jockey Club, and the track grew into a site to showcase the Kentucky breeding industry.
As the popularity of the Jockey Club grew and Churchill Downs gained more momentum, the track acquired more and more land, became more developed, and by 1986, Churchill was a designated National Historic Landmark.
From 2001 to 2005, the track underwent a $121 million renovation, refurbishment, and add-ons and the accompanying Witness Wood® was removed during this renovation. Churchill Downs is also home to the Kentucky Derby Museum, where spectators and race fans alike can stroll through this history of America’s oldest sporting event
All pens are handcrafted by History Salvaged Master Makers and are made in America.
Each is individually handmade and each varies in look and feel both in grain and shape.
Each History Salvaged pen is custom handcrafted to order with a typical delivery time of approximately 4-6 weeks.
Each pen is discreetly engraved with a Witness Wood® control number and arrives in a presentation box and includes a Certificate of Authenticity with custom tamper proof corresponding hologram, history, and provenance